Amang’s Father’s Day


Saturday I drove to Delano to meet my family there. I got to stop by Sonics-got myself some popcorn chicken & strawberry limeade. Yummy!

It was even yummier that it was happy hour-my drink was less than a dollar 🙂

No one was home at my relative’s home when I arrived in Delano. Luckily they leave a key out to enter the house. Let’s just say I had 5 different keys and 4 different locks to open before entering the house. I told my cousin “If a murderer was chasing me I wouldn’t even try to get into your house-there’d be no point”

Around 5pm I drove to Amang’s convalescent home. My family was sitting around. Dar was taking pictures, of course. My Lolo loves pictures, probably where us Torres’ get the love of being in pictures from.

My grandpa is 82 years old. Things have changed since Enang has died, his wife. She’s been gone for about 8 years now. I suppose losing your spouse does that to you. Albeit, he’s still quite a character to be around.

I gave him a hug and sat on his bed listening to his stories. He looks alot better from when I last saw. I was glad.

Ilocano is a hard language to understand since I didn’t grow up around that dialect. Although, I’ve picked up a few words and phrases along the way and can usually decipher what is being said-only if Amang is talking because he talks slow. Unlike my uncles and aunties who spout off a mile a minute with the volume and tone of the ilocano language!

He was talking about his truck. I remember that truck. He crashed into a ditch once around Christmas time. It was a really nasty green dingy colored truck.

The conversation goes everywhere whenever Amang starts talking. Somehow we ended up telling him we were going to Uncle Jose’s house (Funny story to come about that sometime-I won’t insert it here because it’s unrelated) Anyway, while he is telling his story my dad interrupts him  (because of our prompting) to ask, “What is my name?” Amang stops talking altogether and stares at my dad. My dad is smiling and us siblings start to giggle. We know what’s coming next… His answer: “I forgot”

Through all this his dinner arrives around 6pm. We tell the nurse that brought it in that he doesn’t know our names.. so she asks him… what’s their names? Is this your son… Amang’s answer: No…

Yet, he can remember stuff that’s happened when he was still in the Philippines raising his kids. Once he told us off when the war was going on.

He was a soldier. He and Enang needed to cross a river to get away from the enemy soldiers and the bridge was out. He told Enang, “I will carry you across the river only if you marry me.” She told him “No.” Obviously, she relented, allowed him to carry her across, and married after the war.

Back to his dinner. He told us (nurse included) he was not eating. The nurse left and we tried to coax him to eat. He finally told us why he wasn’t going to eat. He wouldn’t be able to eat later if he ate now. What?! Amang where are you going?!!?

Apparently, we didn’t know he had decided to come with us. Ah, Amang. Both of my grandparents are stubborn-the majority of us cousins have received this trait as well. He was adamant about not eating and coming with us to Jose’s house. Luckily it was still early and he was able to come. Visiting hours are over at 8pm.

Later on when my Dad dropped him back “home.” My dad told us Amang didn’t want him to leave. Nurse to the rescue, sort of, said visiting hours were over and that my dad will be back tomorrow.
Amang: “Ok, bye!”

Leave a Reply

