The life of a single…

I’m having a conversation with my married cousin living in Hawaii about our cousin’s wedding. We’re both in the bridal party. I’m telling her about my idea I found online.

She interjects, “I know this is really random but are you open to meeting guys….?”

Me: Uh, yeah…?

Her: He’s Filipino but he’s tall. He’s really nice. But he has braces…

Me: Filipino is ok as long as he’s tall LOL.

Her: Yes…hesitation…. but he’s in the navy…

Me: Oh… ok. so how often did you guys hang out?

Her: Him and your Manong Rag hung out a few times when he was stationed in San Diego. He stopped by the house when he was deployed in Hawaii for a few months. He’s really nice.. you guys can meet next year when we move to San Diego…

Me: How tall is he?

Her: like 5’10” … right hun? (she’s talking to her husband) .. background noise. He has braces though.

Me: Oh braces are ok.. because he’ll have nice teeth..!!!

Her: Yeah yeah. haha. Go on your sister’s Facebook and see manong rag’s friends. His name is… [wait for it…]

Lloyd… [inside my head-he would have a name like Lloyd… ]

Me: Ok, but how are we supposed to meet?

Her: When we move to San Diego!

Me: When is this?

Her: Next year around April or May

Me: Oh ok…

Her: Get a Facebook then you guys can talk with each other!

Me: Ugh, no. I can wait til next year when you guys get here!

Her: Look at his pictures!

Me: Uh, no.. don’t tempt me to anonymously get a Facebook. . .

Her: Mel, I’m glad you’re open to all this…

Me: Yeah manang… I’m not a bitter single woman..

Her: Good, I’m glad. So I expect you to visit me often in San Diego…

 

2 thoughts on “The life of a single…

Leave a Reply

