So much for preparation

I had a METRO job test for Accounts Payable yesterday at 12:30 in the afternoon.

I’ve been talking with different people about the tests; my boss and my mom both know people there who have been finding out about the test.

From the information other people were telling me it was dealing with POs, invoices, accounting terms, calculations, etc.

I had driven around the area on Thursday to gauge how far away it was from my job. (About 5-10minutes)

I left work at 12:10 and got at Metro around  12:20. HUGE building and very nice.

There was a group of 30 people there. We were ushered upstairs (4th floor) in a classroom-type room.  I was expecting computer tests right? Wrong! They were scantron tests!

As I sat there, I was hit with a major thought, I FORGOT my calculator!

Oh well, let’s do this and  see how it goes…

We had 1hour and 40 minutes to complete the test and it was 50 questions. Only about 5 questions were non-calculation type questions.

I sat there and used my scratch paper-I did it all by hand. I also remembered a few of my SAT taking skills. Ruling out the wrong multiple choice answers.

Two hours later the results were being read, I wasn’t expecting my name to be called but then again I didn’t know what the pass rate was.

Surprisingly enough, I passed! I was in complete shock! Oh and the girl I was sitting next to had TWO CALCULATORS!

Twelve of us passed and moved onto the typing test. I didn’t know how fast I typed but the requirement was 30 wpm. I most definitely knew I typed faster than 30 wpm.

My typing speed: 62 wpm with 9 errors in 5 minutes.

oh and the pass rate? 70% I had to get at least 37 questions right.

This was so not any of my skills! Thank you God, I know it was all you.

 

8 thoughts on “So much for preparation

  1. Very cool, congratulations. Isn’t it great when some days you get a break and everything works out? Restores your faith!

Leave a Reply

