I love my mom…

I came home Monday night to a silent house. It was cold, rainy, and dreary outside. I was a hungry gal.

I open up the cupboards… hey! They’re full-ish!

Oh wait!

SOY?

Soy Protein?!

Mind you, when I didn’t know I was allergic to soy-I was the only one aside from my mom that regularly drank this stuff…

PEANUTS!

Almond Milk

Apparently, my mom forgot she has an allergic to everything person living in her house.

BUT WAIT!

Half-empty bag of….

Something I CAN eat!


I have found my substitute for POTATO chips! Not that I really liked potato chips but when you can’t have something you tend to miss it…Can I get a witness?!

Not that the above bold statement fit into what I am stating I just felt like inserting it in there.


My mom did go grocery shopping. She had high aspirations of cooking fajitas that evening for our lunches the next day. First she steamed asparagus and the Brussel sprouts because she bought a bunch of veggies and didn’t want them to go to waste…. Then she got distracted. What did she end up doing as it was getting close for her to get to sleep?

She marinated SALMON. If I recall…salmon is a BIG no-no.

I came into the kitchen and saw her with the salmon. She looked at me,  soy sauce in hand ready to pour into the pan…”Oh, you want to eat this..?” She places a salmon fillet into a separate pan….before she fully places it in there…”Uh, mom, that’s salmon…”

Mom: “Oh, oh, yeah that’s right.”

Way to go MOM!

Apparently to console me, she was cleaning up the pans she used to steam the asparagus and Brussel sprouts, “Melanie! Drink this juice because you can’t take anymore vitamins.”

“Yeah, mom that’s because it has soy in it.”

I drank it like a good daughter would. I had asparagus and Brussel sprouts for lunch the next day.

Just another random episode of my life…

10 thoughts on “I love my mom…

  1. Nice post (Y)(Y), Sometimes I wish my mom could just go to the kitchen and cook us something for dinner….she doesn’t really like to cook. So I learned to cook for myself ,but it is a good thing now that I can improve my cooking skills:)

  2. Coming from a person with severe food allergies, I can so relate to this! It made me smile. 🙂

    It is definitely true though that you don’t miss something until you can’t have it anymore. I was never a big fan of sandwiches until I couldn’t eat bread anymore. All of a sudden I was craving PB&J like a mad 10 year old. So I had to hunt down the best gluten free bread that I could find and now I eat sandwiches regularly.

    Strange how that works. great post.

    • Oh i know! Bread kills me I don’t really like it but I notice how I miss it because I can’t just grab toast when I’m running late int the mornings!

      What’s the best gluten free bread so far? Do share!

Leave a Reply

