Bad Habit #2

I wrote about a bad habit of mine awhile back… Click here to read about it.

 

Now here’s bad habit #2.

 

I occasionally drive on empty or close to empty.

 

I don’t know what it is about making sure I absolutely need gas in my car. I need gas either way if it’s empty or not empty. Somehow I feel better about myself if I put gas at the last possible mile to see how far I can stretch my gas for the week.

 

It’s a bad habit. My dad has talked with me several times about this already. Sometimes, I’m running late and can’t stop for gas. Sometimes, I don’t even look at my gas gauge until the need gas light comes on. Sometimes, I need to stretch out my gas a little further so I can stretch out my money. (I know, I paid off a student loan so I can very well put gas in my car)

 

It’s quite a jump from filling up on less than $30 to now having to fill up at $40. My car tends to be the car everyone wants to ride in and personally sometimes I’d rather be the driver than some other people. No offense or anything.

 

Bad Habit #1 People Watching

Bad Habit #2 Driving on empty

 

What’s yours?

 

10 thoughts on “Bad Habit #2

  1. Like on “He’s Just Not That Into You” they say that it’s our craving for drama that makes us do these things. They example they gave is when you pay your bills at the last possible minute. Just to see how far you can push it…

  2. I do the exact same thing, even when the warning light comes on I like to see just how far I can go. It is a game of nerves.

    Nice to know I am not the only one.

  3. You are brave, Mel! Running out of gas is one of my worst fears! I always fill up at 1/4 tank. One of my bad habits is not cleaning the car out often enough. I just started working on cleaning it out at least once a week and washing it every other. It’s a start!!

    • I clean out my car whenever I gas up. Not total clean out but just emptying out trash and striaghtening papers and what not.

      Thanks for stopping by and commenting. Always makes me feel special 🙂

  4. I have a little gage in my car that tells me exactly how many miles I have left before I am empty. I thought it was a great tool at first because it would prevent me from running low or out of gas but it just haunts me. I get caught up in the practice or the errands and that damn thing stares at me while I am driving around. I know I have to stop for gas but I am always running late or really busy or something. I usually pull into the gas station when it reads zero and I’m sweating the whole way there.

Leave a Reply

