Travel jealousy, Friendliness, Flirting, and mothers… Part 1

Yes all in one night. It’s insane!

So my Tita (she’s basically my second mother; HER mom babysat me when I was just a baby-oh the stories she can tell) her nephew from the Philippines was at church on Sunday.

Mind you, we were invited to their house on Wednesday for dinner-her nephew coming to visit was brought up ever so slightly..now I wonder if that was on purpose.

I digress as always.

Sunday after church she grabs my hand and pulls me toward her…I want you to meet my nephew… “Oh sure!” (You know how I am Ms. Personality when need be, UGH) Chit-chat my Tita’s sister was there and I haven’t seen her in several months so I was able to focus my chit-chat on her! Evil I know but hey! I do what I have to do.

So, we talk for a little bit it’s more of I’m talking to my Tita in front of him to talk to him… if that makes sense. Anyway, nothing out of the ordinary about that conversation. My mom is ready to leave and good thing because I am HUNGRY! I quickly say goodbye and give my Titas a hug and a kiss and tell the nephew “Nice to meet you!” while running away to the car.

Later that night after evening service. The nephew meets my dad (they happen to be sitting behind us at church) and of course I’m just chilling with everyone. My dad, my tito, my tita, their daughter Dessa. So I include them in conversation asking where he went to visit in California and asking if they took him here or there…etc… All of a sudden I realize it’s just me and him talking with everyone else gone. What happened the RAPTURE?!

“Hm… What is this about?!”

So obviously single adults talk about their lives which happens to be work since we’re single and don’t have a family…

Me: So Tita said your company sent you to all these places for training…

Him: Yeah Costa Rica for four months, Boston for 2 weeks and California for a week.

Me: Must be nice. I’m totally jealous. I LOVE BOSTON.ย  What’s the training for?

Him: Processes, software, etc.

Me: Oh so you’re like a computer engineer?

Him: Yeah.

Me: I’m jealous that your job sends you everywhere for training. Must be nice. (Getting the jealous vibe?)

Him: Yeah so what do you do…?

Me: I work in the accounting department. (I don’t give my title because people automatically think BANK. WRONG! I’m a fresh graduate with no experience let alone with my CPA exam passed either!)

Him: You must be rich…

Me: Oh no no no… you’re the rich one. Your company pays for your traveling expenses–meals, accommodations, etc. If you add up those expenses they pay for with your salary you make WAY more money than me.

Around this time my mother is passing by…she looks at me with a HUGE smile… and then glances at him and looks back at me still smiling… Me: “Eh hi mama” While wondering how absurd my mother is acting…

As soon as she passes by my Tita catches my eye… same dorky smile my mother gave me … (my tita is 6 rows behind us talking with her friends…without a care in this world that her nephew has been talking to this stranger for the past nย  minutes)

My thoughts: OH GREAT! They’re up to their matchmaking again!

Him: So have you been to the Philippines?

My thoughts: he just asked me a question… must answer and clear facial expression to not reflect my amusement or frustration at my tita and mom’s antics OR assumptions!

Me: Yeah.. 10 years ago…

Him: Hm…nice. What part?

Me: Illigan City.

Him: Oh ok that’s where my Alma Mater is…

He then proceeds to tell me the name of the school IIT or something like that.

Me: Oh ok.. don’t know about that.

Him: You should visit…

Me: I’m planning on it.

Him: Yeah.. maybe my company will send me for training again to California. In 10 years…

Me:…I think you’re making fun of me…

Him: Oh no… laugh laugh laugh.. yeah you should visit I can take you around Cebu City…

BEFORE you make fun of me for even inkling at the thought of saying Yes I will visit… but not really answering if I would visit him and allow him to take me around the Philippines… take a look at Cebu City…

 

Cebu Capitol Building

Waterfront Cebu City Hotel

The Terraces at Ayala Center Cebu

Cebu City

 

Now tell me who would say “No… I don’t think I’ll be visiting..”

 

to be continued tomorrow… ๐Ÿ™‚

 

 

12 thoughts on “Travel jealousy, Friendliness, Flirting, and mothers… Part 1

  1. Well… if you won’t go, I.WILL. ๐Ÿ™‚ Simply amazing! You certainly have me thinking that a trip may be in my future plans.
    We all know someone, whether it be a friend or family member, who feels that they need to play matchmaker for everyone in their lives. I guess it’s safer than most dating sites! ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Hi there! thanks for visiting my blog and liking my own bucket list. ๐Ÿ™‚ I updated and crossed out some of them.
    Btw, I like this matchmaking story. ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Great post. I wonder at people who can remember conversations so well. I have a little trouble when it is important things but when it is trivial I can remember back to when I was a kid. So, was he cute?

    Cebu looks like a wonderful city. My camera and I could spend hours there.

Leave a Reply

