My Name is … JUROR # 10 Part 2

Continuing from yesterday’s post…

What I thought about this experience:

I enjoyed it. It was definitely an experience.

Sidebars are used to approach the judge in a semi-private fashion where only the prosecutor, the defense attorney, the judge, and court reporter are the audience.

The council makes up the defense party and the prosecuting party.

Raise your hand if you need to use the bathroom, its ok.

Possible objections: hearsay, vague, relevance, leading, argumentative, offer of proof..

Rulings: sustained, overruled, stricken.

 

A few funnies in the court room:

There were three instances where I remember laughing wanting to laugh.

#1. The defense witness was being cross-examined by his defense attorney…the witness turns to the judge turns back to the attorney…leans into the mic… bathroom break. I’ll be right back.

#2.  Another defense witness… (honestly, i wanted to laugh the whole time he was up there. This guy was a complete joke.) Anyway, the District Attorney was asking very simple questions and the defense witness could not give a straight-forward answer. For example, Question:  is said defendant a lieutenant? Answer: No, he’s actually an Animal Control Officer 2, just like me but he acts like a lieutenant. They didn’t give him the exact title because there isn’t enough funds to pay him on a lieutenant salary. Melanie: I want to LAUGH out LOUD!

#3 Closing arguments . . . the District Attorney was able to give his closing arguments first. Then the Defense Attorney provided his. The District Attorney then gave his final push to the jury. Among that final push…he brought out a picture of a red herring. He called many of the Defense Attorney’s “reasons/excuses” red herrings. Somehow, I saw that coming…and was thoroughly amused that I was right. I was also entertained that he even provided a picture…of a red herring. I think I chuckled…aloud. Maybe even smiled at the District Attorney…oh how I would miss him.

If any of you want to know what my case is about let me know. I can divulge although I have some type of fear that the DA might google about this specific case he was on so I don’t want to provide any names and specifics. I may have a password protected post about it instead. 🙂

6 thoughts on “My Name is … JUROR # 10 Part 2

  1. these little snippets of your own view of the case, or more in fact the system, are fascinating.

    Would love to hear more of your time in side the justice system

  2. Yes I want to know as well. I’m very curious. Just looking at your smile it looks like you have a loud laugh. It’s a good thing you only almost laughed. The smile thing is not a put down! Just an observation! I don’t want to offend you.

    • Actually, no one from Cali really knows about BJU…and actually if they did they remember the discriminatory rules about dating… People still ask me if that is in effect. Weird.

Leave a Reply

