Interviews: The Story of My Life II Update

Remember my Forever 21 interview experience? Read here if you need a reminder.

I was unable to call them back on Friday night. They called me Monday morning 10am. I decided to call them back on my lunch break. I took a late lunch Monday, not on purpose, of course!

I called back but the line was busy. I couldn’t get through. I felt bad only because I didn’t want them to think I was being rude or making them wait on purpose.

Monday afternoon on my lunch break I receive excellent news. News I will hopefully be able to share on Friday 🙂 Stay tuned!

Tuesday morning. I receive an email-she’s been trying to call me: ‘Please call me back, etc.’ I tell the initial interviewer I was unable to get through on the phone lines yesterday. I’ll call her at 3pm.

She replies with her work number and her cell number.

Hm….guess they really really want me.

I call her at 3pm. She wants to know my thoughts.

Me: “It’s $10,000 less than I make now and its a further drive for me. I can’t do it.

Her: Ok, I can’t really talk because there’s not much privacy but I will email you and it’s more than what you were expecting.

Me: I won’t be able to check my email for another hour.

Her: Oh ok, I’ll expect a call at 4:30

Me: Ok that sounds great. Thank you.

The email?

1. The CFO and President authorized a $0.50 increase. Wow?! $0.50 Forever 21 is a GROWING company. They’re opening stores internationally EVERY MONTH!

2. One hour of overtime each day. Again, this is an extra expense of my time mandated by the state of California to be rewarded by time and a half.

3. Estimated $1500 bonus every year. Estimate? Still can’t lock it and load? What is one person’s salary worth?!

My response: I am truly honored the President and CFO would authorize a pay increase. Unfortunately, I have another pending job offer in which the salary exceeds the yearly compensation Forever 21 has authorized. etc..

I didn’t hear back from them. I didn’t think I would. Why were they hounding me? I had the experience they needed at a pay rate they can easily afford. They would have the ultimate benefit. Me? I would have the benefit of the retail industry learning everything from sales and retail tax, international accounting, etc the greatest con? The further drive and the stress. My dad worked retail-he was a manager. He did not like it. He only lasted 6 months.

 

Don’t forget to stay tuned on the pending job offer! 🙂

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Interviews: The Story of My Life II Update

  1. I will be waiting with open eyes for what you might write. I will be hoping that it’s good news! You are a good friend Melanie. Thanks for everything. I want the best for you! $0.50 is laughable! They should be ashamed…

Leave a Reply

