Don’t tell anyone!

When I went home on Monday I told my mom all about the good news.  I told her, I’ll be taking TB test and fingerprinting on Wednesday.

I wasn’t able to tell my dad the good news because of how hectic the day was.

Tuesday mid-afternoon, after a work meeting, I saw my mom had called me twice. I call her back.

Mom: Did you tell them yet?

Me: No, mom.

Mom: Ok, don’t say anything yet because they could still change their mind.

Me: Ok mom. Ok.

My dad calls 15 minutes later

Dad: Did you tell your job?

Me: No dad, I didn’t.

Dad: Oh ok, don’t say anything yet until you’re sure.

Me: Ok. I go tomorrow for testing and some paperwork.

Dad: Ok, bye.

10 minutes later my mom calls me.

Mind you, I’m at work.

Mom: Did you get the job? Dad said you were going for testing.

Me: Mom, I need to take the TB test.

Mom: What did they say to you?

Me: Mom! I’m at work right now. Are you at work?

Mom: Yes

Me: Ok can you check your email?

Mom: Ok yeah. Yeah.

We proceed to have a conversation as she asks me questions. I answer her via email.

Email: They offered me the job. I accepted. Tomorrow (Wed) I go in for a TB test and fingerprinting. Friday they’re hoping my prints clear and we can do all the paperwork and HR stuff.

Mom: Oh ok. You didn’t tell your dad medical testing.

Hold on Mom. Dad is calling me.

I join the calls.

My mom tells my dad the background info.

Mom: She already took the test last week. (Correction, I took it last week of November) They interviewed her last week. They called her on Monday.

Dad: Oh ok.

Mom and Dad have a conversation. My mom is speaking in Tagalog as if I can’t understand.

Somewhere along that conversation my dad hangs up the phone without saying good-bye.

Before my mom leaves… You need to teach me how to three-way!

10 thoughts on “Don’t tell anyone!

  1. Good For You! It’s so exciting when someone is growing, stretching, reaching higher. Congratulations on your new job. They’re lucky to have you.
    And how will you be celebrating your new job? 🙂

Leave a Reply

