Girl Fail. Best Buy.

Ok blogging family.

I fail at being a girl. I need help or something.

Best Buy. December 30th.

I finally go in to get my upgrade. Upgrade was available in April.

I wait in line. I notice cute guy at counter.

Tweet: Cute guy at the counter. Hope i get him to help me out!!!#hottguyspotted

So about 45 minutes later. Guess what? I get the cute guy to help me out.

Surprise surprise.

Surprisingly enough. I actually start a conversation with the kid.

Me: Has it been this busy the whole day?

Him: Since I got here and we’re one person short. But the lady I was helping had a complicated transaction. When I finally got everything she needed my computer crashed. These things are so old.

So we talk. He told me how long he’s been working there. He told me he had knee surgery and didn’t work for a while. Then Best Buy called him back and gave him a raise. He told me he has a year of school left then quitting Best Buy. He told me he’s Filipino and I could probably guess his major is nursing. He asked about myself-school? job? etc.

I can’t remember what else we talk about. That’s it. I didn’t know how to transition the conversation to hanging out sometime or exchanging info.

I was tempted to go the next day and buy something for my phone. I did go to Best Buy Saturday night for something but it was so busy still. He was there, btw.

Today. January 9th. I went to Best Buy. My battery won’t hold a charge for a day. It’s really frustrating. Especially since all I do is text. Sometimes not even.

So. I get there just in time. Right before they close. He’s working. But he’s helping someone else. I wait. The manager asks me what I need help with. Manager walks away because one of his workers asks him a question.

I walk back and just wait.

The guy walks back. The manager tells him what my problem is and “hands me off”.

Guy remembers me from last time. Odd… right?

He asks me if I exchanged my phone from the EVO. I said, “No I …” he interrupts me. “You upgraded. Sorry I’ve dealt with so many customers. I just remember there was a long time and we were over there.”

We talk again. I ask him if he started school yet. Doesn’t ’til February. I asked him where he goes. Mt. Sac. He also repeated the fact that he’s only got one more year. (I think I’m supposed to figure out why but right now my psycho analysis of that isn’t coming to light) He knows I’m done. He says, “Now you’re just studying for the CPA exam right? You have to take the review course? $1500.?” We talk.

I ask him about screen protectors. We walk over and he’s looking at the screen protectors. His co-worker comes over and asks him a question about something. She’s standing in front of me but facing him. She’s done asking and turns to face me, “What are you doing with her?”

Him: I’m helping her with something.

Her: Oh. Ok. She smiles and walks away.

Me: That was awkward.

Him: She’s so weird.

Me: She has a crush on you.

Him: She’s so weird. I’ll come in when I’m not working to buy something and she’ll walk up to me…”Hi sir what can I help you with today?”

He can’t find a screen protector for my phone. He checks the computer to see if he can order one for me.

They don’t have it or any. He says I can buy the screen protector and bring it back to Best Buy and they’ll put it on for me.

Me: Are you going to charge me?

Him: No, bring it in and I’ll put it on for you.

At this point, my brain isn’t working and I linger a second to long for my own good.

Smile. Say thanks. Bye. Walk away.

 

 

24 thoughts on “Girl Fail. Best Buy.

  1. Pingback: Girl Fail #2. Best Buy. « The past to the present

  2. It’s Friday and the weekend is upon us. Here’s hoping that you will make the most of the next few days, make them count! Enjoy your weekend.

  3. Did I hear you say to him “…Are you going to ask me out? Or, do I have to file a customer complaint?” I thought that I heard you from the next aisle. I could be wrong. 🙂

    • You do not fail at being a girl, by no means. And for the record, some guys like it when the girl makes the first move… takes the initiative. For some guys, it would be nice once in a while to be approached instead of doing the approaching! Also, I don’t think any guy would refuse if offered the first move.

  4. Love the way you told this story! I think he should have asked your number or something, but I say give it one more shot, if possible. At some point you are gonna have to say… you know there are only so many reasons for me to go to Best Buy! 🙂

  5. At least you have another reason to go talk to him. I think he likes you too. You should ask him to text you after you leave. you know, just to make sure your battery will hold the charge. lol, that way it will start a text conversation and you will have his number. I’m sure that will turn into something, right?

Leave a Reply

