Dear Lone Woman at Disneyland,

Dear lone woman who was talking on the phone wearing a tinkerbell shirt at Main Street in Disneyland,

Congratulations! It was kind of awkward how I found out you were getting married. I’m sorry your daughter isn’t returning your phone calls and emails. I suppose there is a good reason she blocked your number? At least you are still able to email her husband. I’m sure he’ll pass on the message.

I’m proud of you coming to the “Happiest Place on Earth” by yourself. It looks as if you were taking a break since you arrived at 11 am and it was now 7:30 when I walked into buy some hot chocolate. Thank you for letting me know that Downtown Disney closes an hour after Disneyland does. Oh, cute shirt by the way. I love how Tinkerbell’s name glitters in gold, fitting. Did you buy that at Downtown Disney?

I’m sorry to hear about the debt you are in. $9,700 is not that bad. You did it to renovate your bathroom. An asset offsetting the liability, good choice. That’s quite an eccentric belief you have there, one cannot get married when in debt… I haven’t heard that one before.

I’m sorry I was eavesdropping on your phone conversation. You probably heard or saw me laughing out loud. Then again, maybe you didn’t because you were totally engrossed in your phone conversation. Just to let you know, I don’t think it did much to talk with your hand over your mouth. I was still able to hear you loud and clear. I tried really hard not to listen but it was just too easy.

An apologetic eavesdropper,

Melanie T

4 thoughts on “Dear Lone Woman at Disneyland,

  1. OMG! We are going to Disneyland in a couple of weeks too. I’ve been in that situation before and it can be quite awkward sometimes. You end up somehow being stuck in the same place at the same time as sometime working through a personal issue. They try hard to keep it to themselves. They think they are wispering or that turning around will make it so you magically can’t hear what they are saying. Or even that sunglasses will disguise the fact that they are crying. Ugh. Then you have the people who just don’t care and will cause a scene in a public place while on their phone yelling and screaming at the poor sould who’s on the other end.

    I haven’t decided which is worse……Did you have a good time while you were there?

Leave a Reply

