Day 4 of Honesty

Day 04 — A blogger friend I’ve known for over five years told me she has been blogging anonymously all this time and most of what I know about her is her fantasy. My reaction to the news is…

Anger and hurt. Yes, if I considered her a true friend, I have the right to be angry.

But! If we were casual friends I’d be taken back and wonder … “what is true?”

If you want to be really honest (and definitely bringing this one home) this can happen via cyber or not.

Each and everyone of us portrays ourselves differently than we really are. Whether we want to be perceived this way or that way. I want people to see me like this and not that.

A little fantasy or a lot of fantasy has the same results and consequences; no one really knows what’s true and what isn’t.

5 thoughts on “Day 4 of Honesty

  1. I think you’re right about portraying ourselves differently in real life too. At work I’m professional, at school I’m a smart-kid, with my friends I’m loud and fun – whether or not they’re all versions of me, they’re still different. Good answer!

  2. I guess you are right about the depth of your friendship but I think if they revealed the truth, the friendship means a lot to her. When I wrote the question, the friendship meant a lot to both.

  3. I love this post…I this is how someone can be your “friend” and then one day you find out that they aren’t who they say they are 😦 so sad…
    I have always said there are to things you need to build a friendship/relationship and those are honesty and trust…without these there is no foundation!

  4. All very true Mel! I never thought of the different kind of friends (casual or close) and how that can affect my response… I think that is due to the fact that I feel to deeply for anyone…
    I am that kind of girl that falls in love immediately and make friend all over. And once I make a friend, I hold a lot to that friendship.

    • Yes I know what you mean and I wanted to point that out too but left the term friend to be defined to the reader instead of defining it myself. I dont use the term friend lightly. 🙂

Leave a Reply

