Non-Starch and natural sugar DIET?!

If you know me I LOVE LOVE LOVE starch.

I could munch on french fries, potato chips, bread, crackers, cookies, animal crackers, brownies, rice, wheat thins, triscuits, anything starch WILL go in my mouth.

So why the diet?

I am desperate. After my trip to Chicago my eczema has decided to wreak havoc in my life. At first I categorized it as stress, since I was studying for my CPA exam. Now all that is done  and I’m still in the same predicament.

The funny thing is I never had this problem in the East Coast or Chicago. Even with the lack of sleep or the stress level I experienced at school or traveling. Weird, I know. Yes, it’s frustrating.

So I’m desperate. I will try anything and everything not having to deal with drugs or medicines. I can assure you I’ve tried all the lotions, moisturizers, antihistamines, cleansers, etc. I’ve been to countless doctors and dermatologists who cannot diagnose or treat me.

It’s this diet my mom stumbled upon and it helped her with her problem. Basically, I can’t eat starch and can only have natural sugar. I must eat meat with veggies. I can only eat fruits on an empty stomach. I drink tea-which is fine with me because I love tea and I already don’t put sugar in my tea. I also drink water like crazy. I already drink water like crazy but even more so now! I eat oatmeal for breakfast with a teaspoon of all natural maple syrup (the jug cost $10.) Lately, my meals consist of salads and tuna sandwiches. Although last night it was strictly fish and veggies. It’s hard to get full when one’s meal consists strictly of protein.

Oh and I can eat rice. It just has to be brown rice. The only downside to this is the amount of time brown rice needs to cook. It feels like I should cook it in the morning to have it for lunch.

I will every now and then “indulge” in some sweets. Not a whole serving but maybe a quarter or a half of one. I will eat two or four french fries. I will pop one or two animal crackers in my mouth.

One of these weekends I’ll pick something from the recipe book and cook me a really good meal. Until now I’m sticking to salads, tuna sandwiches, meat with veggies,  oatmeal, and fresh fruit.

It’s a win-win situation. Either it works and I lose weight or it doesn’t work but I’m still losing weight.

4 thoughts on “Non-Starch and natural sugar DIET?!

  1. How much weight are you trying to lose? Or it’s really eczema that might be stress-induced also?

    I hope you do have a type of regular exercise that you love to do. As you know, I’ve been cycling for a long time. I don’t drive/we don’t have a car. We live close to public transit, services, shopping, etc. I’m certain if I didn’t bike regularily, my weight would be different.

    Stay healthy. You will thank yourself years from now.

    • Actually, I’m not trying to lose weight. I’m trying to figure out what’s wrong with me. The doctors have diagnosed it as eczema and something else. IDK if it is stress because I was under stress at school and didn’t have this problem. It could very well be stress. I do exercise although not as consistent as I should.

      I do see an allergist on Monday. Hopefully, they can help with a diagnosis and we can start to narrow this puppy down! lol

Leave a Reply

