Happy 50th Birthday Dad!

Many of your friends know you to be a guy who knows his stuff-cars, carpentry, plumbing, finances, directions, and electrical wiring. They would most likely describe you as the guy who’s always smiling and care-free.

To me, you are more than just the dad with the corny jokes and the dad of all trades. You are a person who has greatly influenced my life. Allow me to share my dad for a brief moment.

My dad is a silent leader who leads by example.

My dad does not have to tell me what kind of man I should marry and how I should expect to be treated, he shows me in the way he treats and interacts with my mom. He shows me in the way he sacrificially and willingly provides for the family.

My dad does not have to tell me to spend time with God. I see him everyday before I leave for work-he sits on the couch by the window or at the bar stool in the kitchen. I see him hunched over in prayer or with his glasses on reading his Bible.

My dad does not have to tell me to work hard and do my best. I see it whether he’s putting in a new window, checking on all the cars, or cleaning the kitchen.

My dad does not have to tell me how to spend my money. I know. I see the importance of saving money. I hear the messages left on the answering machine from Investment Companies. I see the mail with the Investment software inside. I see him looking through the papers and notice the items on sale.

My dad does not have to tell me to help around the house. I see him cooking dinner, cleaning up after himself, and washing the dishes.

My dad does not have to tell me he loves me or that I have his support. I know he does because of the actions stated above and so much more I have not mentioned. Even though I know he loves and supports me, he tells me anyway without any coaxing from his wife or family.

Everyone has an example in their life. My dad happens to be mine and I’m thankful the Lord has given him 50 years may God bless him with many more!

7 thoughts on “Happy 50th Birthday Dad!

  1. What a sweet post…. I am so glad you were raised with a father who demonstrates God’s love and is willing to be the leader in your family… He is a blessing to those around him also! πŸ™‚

Leave a comment